The Mysteries of Harris Burdick

the-mysteries-of-harris-burdickYesterday I came across an amazing collection of illustrations compiled by Chris Van Allsburg. Or so I thought.

There are basically 14 enigmatic illustrations, each with a title and caption. As the story goes, they were introduced a children’s book publisher 30 years ago by a mysterious man Harris Burdick. This guy disappeared, but left the publisher with all the drawings, but no complete story.

Chris Van Allsburg has pulled my leg. I just discovered, a day later, duh, that the whole thing is a story in and of itself. Silly me. What a great prank.

Another Place, Another Time
If there was an answer, he’d find it here.

The drawings are mysterious, kind of sci-fi-ish. I found the fantasy and the spirit of story telling really inspiring. I like the idea of transforming an imaginative image into a full blown story. I will try to practice this more.

“Mr. Linden’s Library”
He had warned her about the book. Now it was too late.

“Under the Rug”
Two weeks passed and it happened again.

Leave a Reply

